Your web browser is out of date. Please upgrade it for a better experience viewing this website.

Commission on the Status of Women

The UN Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) was established in 1946 and meets annually in New York. Comprised of 45 Member States the CSW is the principal global policy-making body dedicated exclusively to gender equality and advancement of women with the sole aim of promoting women’s rights in political, economic, civil, social, and educational fields.

Its mandate is to ensure the full implementation of existing international agreements on women’s human rights and gender equality.